No errors, no warnings, yes its my Template Builder.
So Microsoft has done something to the computer.
For the last few days, windows has been wanting to install Win11 26H2, but I’ve been refusing it.
This morning my monitor hardware has shown a new message saying something to the effect the display is best at 1920x1080. This is during the part of the boot process where the UEFI bios message would appear and yet today no Dell UEFI bios message appears.
My Bios was locked so it showed the message " Headless Operation Mode Active".
Then the Windows logo appeared during the boot process, but a new one, yet I’ve still not installed Win 11 26H2!
I’m wondering if something low level has been done to this PC by the windows update process.
It was back with SBS 2003 Premium that I first noticed updates will affect services and running apps until the machine is rebooted.
Things like Exchange server, the ISA firewall in SBS 2003 Premium would stop working (and anyone could get on that server then) until a reboot and this was despite not letting Microsoft perform updates until scheduled.
No different to now, the update wont happen until I schedule it, and yet updates have occurred against my wishes and buggered up some of my work.
Frustrating to say the least…
Edit.
This just gets weirder. So allowed the 26H2 update to install, and its not even downloaded yet in the Windows update bit of the new control panel, despite me getting little systray icons appearing for the last few days telling me to install it, with 4 shutdown options that appear, install & shutdown, shutdown, install & restart and restart.
Normally my boot process shows: Headless Operation Mode Active → Dell Logo with white circle symbol → Windows 11 log in screen.
Earlier it showed: Monitor warning message saying something like best displayed at 1920 x 1080 → Windows Logo with white circle symbol → Windows 11 log in screen.
Shutdown and restarted and its gone back to showing the normal boot process messages…
This is why I hate computers, got no control over them despite locking them down or trying to, using recommended security practices etc etc…
And its why I hate updates because MS resets some of the settings I have put in place…
I might be allowed to earn a living one day…
Onwards and upwards /S
edit2
Found the cause, 2 settings in my template builder had been changed which I hadnt changed and that caused a cascade of problems, resulting in the procedure being deselected in the prompt.
Well it just goes to show, even running an OS in a virtual machine isnt safe…
Thats cost me 8-10hrs of needless work.