Anyone want to take over a product?

I have a software product for managing (mostly) collegiate gymnastics competitions. I have been selling it since 1990 and most of the university gymnastics programs in the USA use it. As you might imagine, that is not a large customer base and this product was not the only one that kept me housed and fed all these years.

Several years ago I mostly retired but the love of the sport and the people I have gotten to know over the years had me continuing to update and license the gymnastics program. It is currently using a subscription model with yearly renewal required.

Anyway, recent health issues have forced me to finally stop working entirely but I don’t want to leave my customers in the lurch if possible. I am looking for someone who would like to continue maintaining and perhaps updating the program going forward. I am not asking for payment. I want to just turn over all the Clarion source code, customer information, etc. to anyone willing to commit to keeping it going. I will also happily work with you as much as necessary to bring you up to speed.

The current version is in Clarion 6 but I have a Clarion 10 version that is mostly complete and runnable but with some remaining issues. Both versions use a number of 3rd party Clarion add-ons, most from SoftVelocity and Capesoft. The installer is Setupbuilder.

It currently brings in about $12,000 - $20,000 per year depending on sales of associated hardware add-on. Except for finalizing the Clarion 10 version, it requires very little effort once a year to send out update invoices, update hard-coded version numbers, and send out activations once invoices are paid.

So, is anyone interested?

3 Likes

Hi, Peter.
I’m interested, but I don’t know if you are thinking in someone residing in the US only (I’m not).
I have all the licenses for Clarion (up to 11.1), Capesoft’s add-ons (almost all) and Setupbuilder.