C10 Read and Write version of ASCIIFileClass

All I want to do is read an ASCII text file line by line, do a search and replace, and then write the changed version back to the original file. In Visual Basic this is pretty simple. What am I missing in Clarion?

Can anyone point me to some Open Source code or Clarion Examples that read and write text files?

I’m a newbie so hopefully I’m not asking something really obvious :thinking:

Same as any other file in Clarion. The file just needs to be defined with the ASCII file driver.
This is actually something Clarion does quite well, all files are accessed the same way and changing type is as easy as changing the file definition.

MyTextFile   FILE,Driver('ASCII')
record  RECORD
line   string (100)
end
Access:Mytextfile.Open(MyTextfile)
Loop until access:MyTextFile.Next()
  do stuff
End

Or you can define the file in the dct and use a Process procedure and put code in the TakeRecord embed point

1 Like

Hi Donn,

What’s interesting about your question is that while it includes some context, it’s not immediately apparent what your goals are. And depending on your goals, the answer could be remarkably different.

First, I should point out that Sean’s answer is completely correct, as far as it goes. You can indeed use the ASCII driver to read, and write, an ASCII file. You declare the table in the dictionary (or better yet, inside the procedure in hand-code) and using that you can iterate through he table very easily.

Unfortunately this driver is quite slow - which is understandable given that it has to pretty much re-write the entire file on the disk with each write. (And disk access is the slowest part of this function.) That doesn’t detract from it’s usefullness, but does possible open the door to other alternatives.