CIDC Africa 2020 (in 2022) starts Thursday September 22 - Time Schedule for USA

I am not part of the team that hosts CIDC, so this is nothing official and I could be wrong.

The event named “CIDC Africa 2020” is taking place in the year 2022 due to COVID delays. It starts Thursday September 22, 2022 in Cape Town South Africa at 8:30am which is UTC + 2 time zone. It ends Sunday September 25.

You can still sign up at the CIDC 2020 website. You get 2 days of Training, 2 days of Conference and the 12 Online Interim Sessions.

During the delay there were 12 sessions online of about 2 hours that were included for those that registered for CIDC 2020. You can register now and get those sessions. Once you Login you’ll find those on the Streaming tab. On the Presentations tab you’ll find the links to downloads of example projects and source (when logged in) plus the same link to the video stream.

  • Accounting API’s - Andy Wilton, noyantis - 3 Parts
  • Bad Clarion Habits - David Harms, CoveComm Inc.
  • Donut Holes - Dries Driessen, Schoolcraft Legal Systems
  • How ABC Works - Bruce Johnson - 2 Parts
  • Lists, Lists, Lists - Mike Hanson, BoxSoft
  • Lost SQL Connections - Rick Martin, Upper Park Solutions
  • SQLite File Driver - John Hickey, ohnosoft
  • Top APIs for Your Program to Consume - Andy Wilton, noyantis
  • Universal Pivot Tables - Mike Hanson, BoxSoft

https://www.cidc2020.com/

1 Like

I took the web schedule and added USA Time Zones, plus OZ Australia Eastern Time Zone that covers Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra Brisbane, etc.


Are these the right time zones? You should double check on the Official CIDC Schedule page.

IMO a session to catch live will be “Future Features of Clarion” by Robert Zaunere the President of SoftVelocity. It’s on Saturday 9/24. Will Bob announce the 64-bit compiler? :wink:

  • 3:30 PM in Cape Town
  • 9:30 AM in New York
  • 8:30 AM in Chicago
  • 7:30 AM in Denver
  • 6:30 AM in Los Angeles
  • 11:30 PM in Sydney AUS

Attached are the Excel sheets for the above schedule (and next post) you can adjust to your own time zone.

CIDC_2020_Schedule2.zip (214.8 KB)

1 Like

The above schedule is kind of terse without the tool tips and popup windows that appear on the website. Below I made more detailed Excel sheets. These XLS are in the CIDC_2020_Schedule2.zip attached to the prior post. You can use them adjust to your time zone, highlight important sessions, keep notes, etc.





1 Like

Carl, 2023 is next year.

1 Like

I was distracted thinking about how I hope we will have CIDC 2021 next year in 2023 at WDW
:thinking:

In the past, this session was open to anyone. Is this true again?

yes, but it won’r be live.
The live-stream is a single all-day stream, so it’s not so easy to cut into that and make a bit public.
So we’ll separate out all the day’s sessions and post them as individual sessions after-the-face. Probably within a few days, but possible after a couple of weeks - it all depends on the work-load.

Once we have separated that one out, then we’ll make it free to view.

2 Likes

Very much appreciated.

I just noticed that CIDC 2020 Registrations close tomorrow Tuesday September 20.

Price is $300 which gets about 50 hours of Clarion content

Here’s Bruce’s post on 9/5 from Discuss.SV


Hi All,

So CIDC 2020 finally happens this month on September 22-25.
Onsite registrations will close this week - but online registrations will be available up to the 20th.

If you aren’t already registered (for online, or onsite) then see https://cidc2020.com - Online registrations are especially good value this time at $300, for all sessions (2 days of training, 2 days of conference sessions) and include 12 interim-online sessions we did during lockdown.

You can see the schedule here:

https://cidc2020.com/ScheduleDay

You can register here:

https://cidc2020.com/registerForm

All sessions are streamed live, and recorded, so you can join us live, delayed, or watch the recordings after the fact.

For those who are already registered please take a moment to test your login this week. You will need to login to watch the streams, so having that all in place now will save some panic on the 22nd.

Cheers
Bruce