Clarion Language and Clarion Template Language syntax grammars

I am studying about lexers and interpreters. A few years back, I took a lexer that @CarlBarnes did for Clarion Magazine and modified it to “sort” of tokenize Clarion code. That worked fine for what I was trying to do back then, but I would like to do a better job this time. For example, a couple of things that I did wrong were that I didn’t categorize the tokens, and also that I just ignored various language constructs (such as classes and interfaces)…

I think it was over 10 years ago that I read somewhere the syntax grammar (I guess it was BNF) for Topspeed C. I can’t recall where I saw it however, but I think it was in one of the Topspeed language manuals. That got me thinking, do any of you have the syntax grammar for Clarion Language and/or Clarion Template Language? Even if it is incomplete that would be great!

Thanks.

Maybe ask Ralf Schoeffler if his ClaScript would help you in your endeavors? Says there’s no black box.

https://www.schoeffler.biz/clarion/clascript/

5 and 5.5 came with the ConvSrc tool for moving to ABC. Inside CnvEng you’ll find the LexerClass class that I think was for parsing Clarion code. IIRC it had some bugs I fixed. it had improvements in 6.0 but SV did not include the source.

LexerClass          CLASS,TYPE,MODULE('CNVENG')
TokenList             &TokenQueue,PRIVATE

Init                  PROCEDURE
Kill                  PROCEDURE
FindToken             FUNCTION(STRING Token,USHORT StartPos=1),USHORT
GetEndChrPos          FUNCTION(USHORT TokenNumber),LONG
GetStartChrPos        FUNCTION(USHORT TokenNumber),LONG
GetToken              FUNCTION(USHORT TokenNumber),STRING
GetTokenCount         FUNCTION(),USHORT
TakeLine              PROCEDURE(*CSTRING TextLine)
TokenReplace          FUNCTION(*CSTRING cLine,*CSTRING[] TokenSequence,*CSTRING Replacement,FileQueue FileList,<USHORT NumberTokens>),BYTE
ViewTokens            PROCEDURE                       !Debug only