Classes tutorial to create a class from scratch

Hi,
I have been programming in Clarion for the last 22 years and never created a single class (never needed to create one).

But I think it is time to expand my knowledge for this as templates and functions are covering this area so far.

So where can I find simple detailed tutorial about how to create a class from scratch.

Regards

Good, I’m also listening :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Also, check out @Bruce’s Deriving a ABC class. A good first class is to derive an ABC class, like BrowseClass or WindowManager, and make a change for some functionality you want in all of your windows.
Then using this class throughout your APPs creates this functionality for you.
http://www.mediafire.com/file/3r6ms3v25xsvsri/ClarionLive327_20150821_BruceJohnsonOnDerivingABC_Classes.wmv/file

There are lots of resources on Clarion Live about writing classes.

1 Like

thank you all

Regards

Hi,

can anybody kindly send me a complete very simple class sample which contains let’s say two or three procedures like adding, substracting or multiplying two numbers, with the project or application sample using this class (clarion 6.3 style).

I checked the video suggested and it was interesting but so many details that I lost focus (too old for follow up lectures :frowning_face:)

with lots of thanks in advance.

Regards

A very simple example, can you cut and paste from here into the appropriate places?

PROGRAM

MathClass      CLASS
Add2              Procedure(LONG in1,LONG in2),LONG
Add3              Procedure(LONG in1,LONG in2,LONG In3),LONG

MAP            
   END

CODE
      MESSAGE('Add 1 + 2 = ' & MathClass.Add2(1,2))
      MESSAGE('Add 1 + 2 + 3 = ' & MathClass.Add3(1,2,3))
      MESSAGE('Finished')

MathClass.Add2 PROCEDURE(LONG in1,LONG in2)
   Code
      RETURN(in1 + in2)

MathClass.Add3 Procedure(LONG in1,LONG in2,LONG In3)
   Code
      RETURN(SELF.Add2(in1,in2) + in3)

Nice. that’s a good start.

Thank you

Regards