H5 Capabilities?

I am not a pro developer although I have used Clarion for a few years (a few years ago!) and have recently started coding again for my woodworking club. I am thinking about upgrading from C8 to C11 to be able to use H5.

I have been trying to find out more about H5 since somebody in this group mentioned it, but am finding very little info about it. I have watched the videos on the SoftVelocity website, done web searches and I see how easy it is to implement, but am still left with unanswered questions. It seems like it lets your app run in a browser, I get that much, but:

• does it have to run in a network environment? I read something about it running in a ‘private’ environment, which I assume is a network. I am not a network guy …
  • can it run on a hosted website?
  • will it run on smartphones/tablets, etc.?
  • is anything other than H5 needed to be able to execute from a browser?
  • I believe it runs with Legacy coding too, correct?

Does anyone have a comprehensive writeup of H5 that talks about it from soup to nuts?

thanks

Mark

Hi mark,

Diego can perhaps answer more definitivly than i can. Ive not used it myself, so this is one of those “i gave no idea, but will answer you anyway” useless replies.

• does it have to run in a network environment? I read something about it running in a ‘private’ environment, which I assume is a network. I am not a network guy …

Im not sure what you mean by “network environment”. Are you asking “does it need s connection between the vlient and server?” -yes. Can it run on a LAN? - yes.

No. You need an actual (windows) server. Often people use a Virtual Private Zerver - think around $50 per month. Or your own box connected to the internet.

It won’t -run- on the phone. The browser runs on the phone. The h5 program runs on the server. The phone has a “view” of the program in the browser.

No. H5 on the server is all you need to worry about. The browser on the client side is out the box.

With C11 yes.