How do I add an open source template to my C10 project?

My friend Wolfgang recommended the following template to me:

I have read the manual on templates, but either I missed the bit about how to add a template to my project, or it isn’t there. I’m a newbie trying to cope with an avalanche of new concepts and ideas.

I tried copying GenTXA.tpl to to C:\Clarion10\template\win but that didn’t seem to make any difference.
I also tried to add it to the folder my project is in.

I’m sure I’m missing something really obvious. Please could someone explain what to do with this template so it becomes part of my program?

Hi DonnEdwards

There are as a minimum 2 template areas, Softvelocity / Clarion’s Standard area and the area recommended for Third parties. Best practice is to use third parties.
So copy the template file and supporting template releated information in there… example: C:\Clarion10\accessory\template\win

Once you have done that, fire up clarion IDE and go to register the template.

Once your there, click on “Register” and then go find the template you just copied to the third party Accessory area and open.
Once registered it will appear in the list.

Remember different templates have different ways of using them.
This one would probably be a Utility template.

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Thanks. Now I have the templates registered.

What do I do to activate the template in my project? It consists of a single “Fixer.clw” file and a “Fixer.exp” file (whatever that is). See screen shot below

The help file mentions

From a Procedure Properties dialog, add an Extension template by pressing the Extensions button. CLICK on an extension template from the list, then press the Select button.

I have looked everywhere in the menus and the C10 IDE but I can’t see anything that looks like a starting point for a Procedure Properties dialog.