Learning Clarion on a budget

Hi from Australia!

I’ve recently started a non-dev role at a company who use Clarion, however I have been interested in getting a dev job for a very long time and would like to learn Clarion to try and move to a dev role in a couple years

I only heard about Clarion after coming to the new role and I have a very slim understanding of it. I do have a small degree of skill with SQL, but just hobby stuff to teach myself. The Clarion licence is far and away unaffordable for me right now, which I understand is a bit of a roadblock. Are there any other ways of learning Clarion without shelling out big bucks on a licence? Are there trial/community/education licences available? I am a current university student so I think I would qualify for an education licence if there was one

Thank you all and feel free to message me if you have any suggestions :slight_smile:

Not really much available now for budget Clarion learning. I wouldn’t put any faith in Community Edition rumours either. However, given your interests and work situation, I would get in touch with the developers at the company and let them know exactly what you have posted here. The Clarion community has not been getting any younger, and many likely will be considering how existing code/projects can best be passed along as retirement comes forth.

As a developer at a research university in the US, I’d happily have you start working with me in a nanosecond. After completing your studies and if all goes mutually well, you’d be looking at a nice, permanent position.

Hi helper5740 from Australia,

I think you are in a good spot with your small degree of skill with SQL. Do you have experience playing/working with Microsoft SQL Server?

I would leverage your skill with that. There are a ton of YouTube videos and books on learning and using SQL Server. And you can download the free version of SQL Server Express Edition and SQL Server Management Studio.