New to Clarion : How to create a template to start the solution

Hi All,

I am new to Clarion. I want to create a new solution, but the IDE is asking me to choose the template, and I am not familiar with creating a new template. Can someone help guide me to documentation on how to create a template and solution?

Thanks,
Kannan. R

Hi rkan75,
Maybe it’s a idea to show here what the IDE asks ? I do not think you have to make a new template.

Hi Kannan -

What version of Clarion?

For C7 and up, if you’re on the “Application Properties” window, it’s asking which template chain you wish to use. Generally, that choice is “ABC” or “Clarion”. I prefer ABC.

If you do not see any templates available to choose from when you click the […] button, then you probably need to register your templates. But I’m pretty sure the templates are pre-registered when you install Clarion.

I hereby attached the screenshot. Please let me know if this helps?

You can register templates via the Template Registry window. Click “Tools” --> “Edit Template Registry”

Then click the “Register” button.

The templates should be located in your \Clarion\Template\Win folder

Select all of the .tpl files.

2 Likes

Thanks Jeff, I will do it and let you know.

What version of Clarion are you using?
Some early releases of Clarion 7 would trash the template registry if you opened more than one copy of the IDE.
From your screenshot it looks like you already had an APP and DCT loaded?

Yeah we are working on Clarion 5 and I am trying to build something new on that to understand the language.

No that’s not Clarion 5 - look at the top of the IDE it will show the Clarion version which will be Clarion 7 or greater.

Yes the IDE is clarion8 but the framework to compile the code is Clarion 5. Thats we configured now.

Back in 2011, I have done C5.5 under C8 or 9.