Pbdy.$$$ error message durring make

I have a large, stable, 10 dll CW63ee ABC veterinary package that recently has began presenting the following during a make of any dll. I have been doing routine makes using this computer for many months without incident until recently.

[ABWINDOW.TPW] Error: Cannot open file PBDY.$$$
[ABWINDOW.TPW] Error: Cannot close file PBDY.$$$

These messages are presented in pairs as shown, sometimes repeated

Sometimes I can get the make to proceed to completion but once this occurs it persists. I think it has to do with some temp file not being properly flushed out. I looked in the “C:\Users\ComputerName\AppData\Local\TEMP” folder for this file, even searched “C:*.$$$”, but nothing is presented. Hidden files are set to be visible.

If I restart the computer (Win7 Enterprise) I can complete one more make before the condition re-occurrs. That’s pretty irritating! I have a copy of the whole package on another PC (an old backup XP Home edition) and everything works just fine there.

I haven’t had a question for the community for some years now but this has me stumped. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Kindest regards to all of you.
Doug Selzler

The PBDY.$$$ is the temp file created by the template for generation. Sounds like there there might be a problem with too many temp files? perhaps. Permissions? But for some reason it’s not able to create the file.

Hi Doug,

This usually happens because of another application locking the PBDY.$$$ temp file so that Clarion can’t remove it.
Try setting your Anti-Virus to ignore the folder where your project is.

Could also be things like automatic backup programs.

Graham

Thank you Sean & Graham,

Friday, after powering down and restarting, some time later, I was unable to get past the error on the first subsequent make. So that appears to discount my thought that activity somewhere during any use of the computer since power on contributed to this. I quit for the day.