Procedure params missing when importing APP into solution from APV

I’m new to Clarion and working on a task moving an existing project into Git. Working in Clarion 10.

I have used Clarion’s internal tooling as well as Rick Martin’s famous UPVC tool to export APP files to text (via Application => Export Application To Text) and back again. However, upon re-importing the .APV files into Clarion, compilation breaks due to a myriad of errors. Tracing these errors led to the discovery that re-imported procedures were missing their parameter signatures.

The same symptoms occur when using the Upper Park tool via Upper Park VC => Save App to Version Control, as well as by right clicking on Solution Items in the Solution Explorer and selecting VC Getting Started => Test Export and re-Import APP Files.

Overall the question is, how can I modify my export/import process in order to preserve the solution state upon re-importing all APPs into Clarion?

Thanks!!

Edit: discovered this webinar http://clarionlive.wikispaces.com/ClarionLiveOpenWebinars including a note by John that he was writing a .TXA parser to solve this issue. If anyone knows anything about the parser, if it still exists (from back in 2016), or how it can be re-written (what lines need to be removed/changed in the .TXA files) then that would be a massive help. Cheers!

2 Likes

Hi Steve

This is something I have had to deal with in the past, and so I created a tool in .net for my clients project in order to fix this (and other issues)

I have split the prototype fixer off into a GitHub repo https://github.com/msarson/ClarionPrototypeFixer and added a zip that contains the executable (not signed).