Question about INCLUDE statement

Hello,

Since I am new to Clarion, I want to ask community for a little help. I am having trouble understanding how INCLUDE works in Clarion. I assume that .INC file is something like .H file in C++, and .CLW file is something like .CPP file?

Clarion help does not say much. I have created test project just to test INCLUDE with my file, but I get compile error. I have tried to look code in LibSrc\win directory as an example, but I am not able to figure it out.

I create TestFile.INC and code in it:

OMIT('_EndOfInclude_',_TestFilePresent_)
_TestFilePresent_     EQUATE(1)

someString     STRING(8)

MAP
  MODULE('TestFile.clw')
   someProcedure     PROCEDURE()
  END
 END

_EndOfInclude_

And in a TestFile.CLW I have wrote:

MEMBER()
INCLUDE('TestFile.inc')

MODULE
END

CODE
 MESSAGE('Test')
RETURN

In test application in Global Embeds, section Before Global INCLUDEs I put include:

INCLUDE('TestFile.inc')

I get compiler error for .INC file, and it is:

Expected: ( , * ;

In line where is the procedure:

I am not getting compile error when it is only variable in INC file. If I put QUEUE, I get error Illegal data type. I have not tried with class, since I am trying to get it to work with procedure first.

Can anyone explain hot does INCLUDE() work? I would be very grateful. I tried to google it, but I could not find anything.

Seems your mistake is MODULE/END in TestFile.CLW. MODULE must be declared inside MAP structure.

Take out this of your testfile.clw and I think it should be ok

This syntax is “archaic” and is no longer required. Instead use the ,ONCE attribute on your include statement. as in…

Example CBWndPreview.inc:

OMIT('_EndOfInclude_',_IFDef_CBWndPreview_)
_IFDef_CBWndPreview_  EQUATE(1)