SQL Select for ABC Browse Conditional Record Filter

Hi,

C11 EE ABC, MSSQL

I’m new to using SQL in Clarion.
In the Conditional Browse Behavior i want to set the Record Filter with a SQL Select.
The select searches for the occurence of a user typed text in some fields of the file showing.
The Clarion search is very slow, when i do the Select on the backend it is much faster.

What is the proper syntax to add the Select in the record filter of the browse?
I tried a lot but get all kind of Bind errors, although all fields i use are binded and the file itself also of course.

Thanks in advance for helping!
Rob

Take a look at prop:SQLFilter

In my app I have something like this:

BRW1.ApplyFilter PROCEDURE
  CODE
  PARENT.ApplyFilter
  ! [Priority 7500]
      if TMP:FilterFlagHighLighted                                            
          BRW1::View:Browse{prop:SQLFilter} = '+a.INPROHLRSysRef <> 0'
      ELSE
          BRW1::View:Browse{prop:SQLFilter} = '+0=0'

so I have TMP:FilterFlagHighLighted check box on my screen and depends on its value I filter my browse.

+ means that your new filter will be added to the existing one (so you can have some filter in Template settings as usual)

My first suggestion would be to use Trace and take a look at the select statement Clarion is generating for your browse. Most of the time, it will be the same as one would use directly. However, if not, understanding what causes the difference is very useful learning.

If you find it necessary to enter an SQL select yourself, check the docs for the SQL() statement. It has replaced PROP:SqlFilter and is now preferred.

Hi Douglas,

Thanks for your reply.
Yes i would like to enter a SQL Select myself, i checked the docs for the SQL() statement.
But where to place the SQL(‘Select …’) and how to incooperate it with the ABC browse and the conditional Tabs behavior.

Just put it in the filter for the browse box, like: