Clarion Naming and Coding Conventions

As an Access programmer I am familiar with the Reddick VBA (RVBA) Naming and Coding Conventions and found them to be pretty helpful.

Is there anything similar for Clarion? As a newbie to Clarion I don’t want to develop the wrong habits :wink:

See also http://www.xoc.net/standards/
or
1941APPA.PDF (405.9 KB)

The more sample code I read, the more I am noticing:

Local variable names are all in lower case
Variables passed as a parameter begin with p and then follow PascalCase
Clarion reserved words are ALL CAPS
PROCEDURE and CLASS names are in PascalCase

Hungarian notation is mosty not used :cry:

Is this accurate?

I work as a consultant for a number of clients and see varying standards.
Some upper case all key and reserved words.

I personally, for my own work or where a standard isn’t specified by the client, have moved to all lower case for key and reserved words. CamelCase for variables , classes, procedures and method names.
I find it quicker to type.

No one that I know is using Hungarian notation.

The standard is whatever the boss wants.

I’ve personally moved toward ALL CAPS on Clarion words.
I also do the pParameterName
Sometimes I use ALL_CAPS_WITH_UNDERSCORE for equates.

I see a lot of other folks who do a lot of other things, and I doubt you’ll get a consensus on anything. I have changed a lot in my coding style over the years and I am sure it will evolve in whatever years Ieft doing this..

1 Like

As others have said there’s no “standard” and even “conventions” are pretty loose.

The p in front of a parameter thing seems to be pretty common these days, and certainly makes code easier to read. Occasionally I use *r instead if the parameter is being used exclusively as a “return value”.