Progress Bar API Tricks - Marquee, State Color, Reverse

I uploaded an example to GitHub of how to change a Clarion Progress Bar to use some API features.

You cannot chnage the Prop:Color of a Progress if a Visual Styles Manifest is used. What you can do is change via the API is change the State to Error that shows Red or Paused that colors it Yellow. You might change the state while displaying a message to the user.

A simple trick is if you set the Layout attribute with ?Progress{Prop:Layout}=1 it displays the bar in “Reverse” from Right to Left as it would for RtL text like Japanese.

The main reason I started playing with this was to get a Marquee style Progress that is a bar animation that moves without setting the number. This is intended for when you do not know how long an operation will take. Sadly my tests show the bar stops moving when the program blocks the accept loop. It would work nicely for Net Talk operations that run in another thread e.g. load a web page.

readme1

I made the above Animated GIF screen capture using the GifCap website based on a Life Hacker article How to Quickly Make Animated GIFs from a Screen Recording. There is no download, from the web page you share your screen. You can pick one running application or the entire screen. Seems like kind of a security risk a web page can see your open windows. The GifCap source is on Github.

Seems like it will be a lot of fun to capture screens in action this way. My first attempt uploaded was made on a Surface with the Video zoomed to 200%. This caused some mouse clicks to capture at 100% so there would be a 1/4 sized window flicker into view for a second. It also made the GIF file larger. With this post edit I am uploading a capture done on video running at 100%.

5 Likes

Hi Carl, thanks that looks nice.

I think modernizing some UI components gives an overall better feel to an application.