Sad introduction and help with .GitIgnore for Clarion

Good Day

I am a developer here in South Africa. My Dad was one of the first Indian Developers in South Africa, and he Programmed on Clarion until his sudden passing on 10 July 2023. (Aged 67) My dad and I were in the business together , and i am a web and mobile apps developer. I used to also to the support for my dad’s clients, he has clients that are 25years on clarion .I never did any serious development on clarion and now i have been put in an extremely difficult position to maintain his clarion apps, as they are all Business systems, Mainly POS type , so peoples business are highly dependent on them .

I dont have the luxury to only focus on leaning clarion as i have my own client base that i need to do development for to survive.

So you will be seeing my name a lot on this forum, and i would greatly appreciate your patience and help with my questions.

My dad did not use source control , i am used to git. can somebody please provide me with a sensible .gitignore file to get started

Thanks

1 Like

Hello
Sorry for you loss.
Version control with pure git does not work out of the box, as the .app files are binary files and git is text optimized.
See this thread

I am a single developer, so I just use my backup history to compare or roll back when needed (Had some really bad experience with the Clarion generated text import and export back in the Clarion 6 days)

Thanks Bjarne, Ok git wont work fully, but it will work reasonably that if im just pushing changes to have a cloud backup , it should be fine i guess…

I’m sorry for your loss.
I strongly encourage using Git with clarion.

While it’s most natural when working with projects that don’t use APPs or DCTs, you certainly can use git with APPs and DCTs. @Rick_UpperPark has even written a tool to help you work in exactly that environment.

I don’t use APPs or DCTs - which is known as hand coding in the clarion world.